Testimonials

ShamRockGrips

aSTRONOMICAL

ItHE MOST EXCELLENT TYRES EVER DESIGNED.


Johann Marx

Thank you

Thanks again for your sponsorship with a set of BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 tyres from Michelin for our epic Namib dune trip. We started the trip from Pretoria on the 31 st July at 1.00 AM in high spirit, not quite knowing what lies ahead of us. I drove in a 1984 280 GE with a brand new set of BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 tyres. All 3 Mercedes G’s set off with different tyres, vehicles packed with all the necessary equipment needed for a ten day trip camping and sleeping in the dunes. We arrived at the Botswana border post at about 6 in the morning. With my new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 behaving very well on the open road, average speeds changed between 110km/h-140km/h all the time depending on road conditions. Tyre pressure on the 230 GE with the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 tyres was about 2.3 bar all round. Vehicle weight loaded was +/_ 2650kg’s and handling very good. On day one we slept over at Westnest on the other side of Gobabis. Day 2 was a very long drive to Rehobot via Windhoek; from Rehobot we hit gravel road, we stopped the convoy to lower the tyre pressures to whatever suited the driver, I lowered the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2’s to 1.2 bar, the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2’s handled this pressure very well and gave a safe and comfortable drive with good road holding our general speed on the gravel was about 100-120km’s a hour; the load on my Mercedes G was now up by 240kg’s as I was the fuel carrier for the two Mercedes G professionals. We arrived at Beta camp at plus minus 3.30 in the afternoon all in very high spirits for the anticipated start of the real McCoy the next morning. On day 3, Sunday morning we were up early for our dune adventure, I let the tyre pressure down to 0.8 bar. Coffee and rusks where served by our tour guide Armand Basson with wax hom a 4.5 litre Cruiser bakkie loaded to the brim. For the biggest part of the sand driving in the morning I did not have to engage 4×4 the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2’s where handling the sand with ease. We stopped at midday for a drinks break under a huge camel thorn tree, we were in the middle of a different world. One with its own majestic beauty just sand and infinite dunes as far as the eye can see. Armand slowly introduced us to the bigger sand dunes and slip faces, this was the learning curve for the bigger Dunes and slip faces for the drivers and vehicles as well as tyres anticipating the next day. Whilst driving along the ever changing colours of the dunes suddenly a very excited member of our tour group alerted us on the radio that they saw the sea. This was a sea with a difference, not a soul in sight nothing nut the sand dunes and the majestic waters of the Atlantic Ocean We stopped to take pictures and then proceeded to look for a place to set up camp near to the beach. The night temperatures drop quite low with the cold breeze blowing from the ocean Early the next morning we were off to the next destination Namib tented camp also on the beach front, this was also a new test for the BFG K2 tyres on the wet sand I was concerned about the tyres not being able to handle this low pressure and possible debeading on the big dunes Day 5 : We took on the big dunes . At the top of the dunes you start of by driving 30-50 km per hour and by the time you reach the bottom your speed has accelerated to almost 140 km’s per hour . I cannot even begin to imagine what the G force was. All I know was that the vehicle bottomed out and took a pounding and never debeaded or lost grip in these extreme conditions. These tyres pleasantly surprised me. Well done Michelin SA! After 2 days of extensive sand driving, high dunes and extreme slip faces we continued our journey up the Atlantic Ocean towards Walvisbay. This was a fast driving section on wet sand and rocky terrain t places to beat the incoming tide All the vehicles made it safely some got stuck but was recovered very fast by the other 4×4’s. This was a tricky wet sand and water section at places it was 250mm deep and a real possibility for debeading . The new BFGoodrich All- Terrain T/A KO2 stood its ground (or sand and water) and did not debead. We slept over in Windhoek and the following day started our trip back to South Africa, all in a hurry to get back to our families. The speed varied between 115km’s an hour to 165km’s and hour, I checked the tyre temperature at various distances with no problem the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 handled the high speed without a problem. Back in Pretoria I changed the BFG tyres to my competition 280 SWB G –Class to do some serious rock crawling. The best tyre pressure seem to be between .6 and .7. It handled this extreme rock terrain exceedingly well. The next terrain we used for testing was the extreme Mbizi track built for the festival on the other side of Bella Bella. (Remembering this is a standard G class with a standard suspension) The tyres past this test with flying colours .Loads of grip on the dirt with loose soil made this an easy drive for the G class. Tyre pressure on the track was .8 I used a set of BF’s on my competition car a few years back but stopped using it because of the chipping and chunking and debeading problems, so far I have had no problems and have not experienced it with the new improved tyres. In conclusion to all BFGoodrich supporters and non-supporters especially farmers this new developed tyre (BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2) is most certainly an huge improvement on the previous one the water displacement is much better the tyre design and composition pattern is a big improvement. If you like the previous tyre this one will be a delight to you. The test on these tyres are still continuing and I will keep you posted Lastly another BIG thank you to Wayne my GO TO guy for tyres the last 20 plus years, thank you for arranging these amazing tyres they were responsible for a trouble free trip . I was the only one with no tyre problems whatsoever!


Hannes Lattegan

All Terrain T/A KO2 review

First Impressions: I’ve been using BFGoodrich All-Terrain for the last 13 years. I started off with a set of 285/75/16 and then approached Michelin directly to import a set of 315/75/16. The previous set of 315/75/16 served me very well I got 150,000km out of them without rotating the spare wheel in. After fitting the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2s, you can clearly notice that the tread surface on the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 is almost 10mm wider than the First Impressions:I’ve been using BFGoodrich All-Terrain for the last 13 years. I started off with a set of 285/75/16 and then approached Michelin directly to import a set of 315/75/16. The previous set of 315/75/16 served me very well.

I got 150,000km out of them without rotating the spare wheel in.After fitting the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2s, you can clearly notice that the tread surface on the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 is almost 10mm wider than the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO.

So far I’ve done just more than a 1000km on the new set of BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2:
The Cruiser feels very stable with the 315/75/16 KO2, especially through corners.
They seem to track less across ruts.

Ive now driven just over 10,000km and am definitely very impressed with the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2.


Devon Becker

Wild Travel Adventures

I Devon Becker (Wild Travel Adventures) have been a sponsor for Michelin Tyre Company South Africa. I have been given an amazing opportunity to test run the K02 All Terrain Goodrich Tyres. I have had the tyres since the 7th. 10 000km with them, approximately 10% involved very technical off road driving, 40% mud and mixed gravel and 50% tar roads with a fantastic reduction in road noise on the tar compared to other tyres. They really know how to. I Devon Becker (Wild Travel Adventures) have been a sponsor for Michelin Tyre Company South Africa. I have been given an amazing opportunity to test run the K02 All Terrain Goodrich Tyres.I have had the tyres since the 7th. 10 000km with them, approximately 10% involved very technical off road driving, 40% mud and mixed gravel and 50% tar roads with a fantastic reduction in road noise on the tar compared to other tyres.

They really know how to do the job properly, was very impressed when I had to do one of the steepest climbs that I have ever encounter along with others and there was minimal wheel slip from my tyres. In my 10 000km’s I have not gotten stuck anywhere nor have I had a puncture (touch wood). Tyre pressures have been interesting as I have found that the new compounds heat up a lot quicker than the old K0’s-but no complaints.

I would highly recommend the K02 All Terrain Goodrich Tyres to anyone that is looking for a brilliant all-rounder tyre that does a fair amount of tar driving but needs the ultimate grip off road.


Bakkies Botha

It is a pleasure for me to give feedback on your product.

This is my 5th set of BFGoodrich All-Terrain tyres. I have had four sets of old BFGoodrich All-Terrain tyres, previously, and I was satisfied. I have now fitted a set of new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 on my Toyota Land Cruiser. I have travelled 10 000km on these tyres up to date and I am very impressed. I do on road driving, gravel and very bad terrain on my bushveld farm. I find the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 have this is my 5th set of BFGoodrich All-Terrain tyres.

I have had four sets of old BFGoodrich All-Terrain tyres, previously, and I was satisfied.I have now fitted a set of new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 on my Toyota Land Cruiser. I have travelled 10 000km on these tyres up to date and I am very impressed. I do on road driving, gravel and very bad terrain on my bushveld farm.

I find the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 have less road noise and are much more stable on the dirt roads than the old tyres. I have not travelled on sand or mud yet, but I believe the changes on the side wall will definitely increase traction.

The new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 are far more appealing than the old generation tyres. After 10 000km there is only 1mm of tread off my tyres. I trust I will get 100 000/120 000km usage from the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2. I have not yet tested the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 tyres on the wet tar roads, but I am confident that they will perform much better then the old tyres.

I will be giving you more feedback on the new BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 at a later stage.

Thank you for a very good product.


Andrew

The new BFG KO2 AT tyres review, September 2015. Andrew St Pierre White

As a 4×4 and overland travel enthusiast, after six years of uninterrupted use, I have got to the point where my BFGs are trusted friends, always used on my longest and toughest expeditions. I met the announcement of the new KO2s with both excitement and concern. My concern was that the recipe would change, and that BFG’s almost unmatched ruggedness and overall performance would be traded away. I am glad to say that after 9500 kilometers through Botswana, Zambia and as a 4×4 and overland travel enthusiast, after six years of uninterrupted use, I have got to the point where my BFGs are trusted friends, always used on my longest and toughest expeditions.

I met the announcement of the new KO2s with both excitement and concern.My concern was that the recipe would change, and that BFG’s almost unmatched ruggedness and overall performance would be traded away. I am glad to say that after 9500 kilometers through Botswana, Zambia and Malawi, the new tyre is a triumph. Better grip on gravel, quieter on the blacktop, and no chipping or punctures during our arduous test expedition. I’m expecting it to reveal even more advantages in the years ahead.


Ian Simpson

BFGoodrich “Where on Earth Am I” competition

I would just like to thank you and whoever else involved at Michelin for the wonderful news of winning the Iconic spot section of your BFGoodrich “where on Earth Am I” competition run together with Getaway magazine. The tyres were collected and fitted by the extremely helpful and efficient Tiger Wheel and Tyre Fourways. My Land Rover Defender vehicles have been fitted with BFG All Terrain tyres since 1996 and I have never had any problems during that time. These tyres have been used on trips all over South Africa as well as to Namibia, Mozambique and Botswana and I can say that during 240,000km on my Defender 90 and now 90,000 Km on my Defender 110, I have never had a puncture or been let down by the BFG’s. This prize could not have come at a better time as the tyres on my Defender 110 were getting towards the end of their life and I had been looking at a new set in the very near future. Thank you all once again for this very welcome prize and please pass this on to whoever else is involved. Regards Ian Simpson


Andreas Moerman

BF Goodrich Mud-Terrain

Hi Andreas here. I never knew BF Goodrich until I had to buy new tyres for my champoin Jeep. I talked to a guy that was in the rally for many many years and I ask him for advice about what is the best tyres I can put on my Jeep. He didn’t even think about the question for a second and immediately told me to get BF Goodrich Mud-Terrain. I did the go and buy it the next day and from that day my only tyres that I would put on any of my cars till I’m passed away wil be BF Goodrich Mud/All terrain. Best and wil always be the best tyres in the world for centuries. Keep up the fantastic work with BF Goodrich!!! Thank you!!! Andreas Moerman


Hendrik van den Berg

Thanks BFG!

In December 2011 we set of to explore Botswana. High on our wish list of things to see was the famous Kubu island. Not the best time of year to attempt a visit because the rainy season already started. Well we did push through and thanks to BFG all terrain tyres we got to see the magnificent baobab trees covered in foliage. The road conditions were very poor, the locals suggested we turn back, but the slippery muddy road got tamed by BFG, never got stuck and the reward indescribable. Thanks BFG!


Daryl Staples

Exceptional BF Goodrich All Terrain Tyres

My trip to the Maputaland coastline started with one sole objective in finding a turtle coming ashore to lay it’s egg’s. November and December is prime nesting season for this incredible once in a lifetime experience. I set out on a week-long trip from St Francis Bay in the Eastern Cape to venture into the pristine Northern areas of Zululand on the Maputaland Coast. This was going to be a challenge as it was also the maiden voyage for my brand new Ford Ranger 4×2. Yes a 4×2 navigating 4×4 territory. I gained more and more confidence in negotiating the sandy tracks with the exceptional BF Goodrich All Terrain tyres I had fitted just prior to the trip. By deflating the tyres to 1,2 KPA the Ranger sailed through every sandy obstacle. Thanks to the BF Goodrich tyres, I was able to enjoy the pristine Mabibi campsite and explore the coastal forest region – An experience I will never forget !

I “turtled my way home” loving the incredible country we live in!


Theon Theron

8500km of pure joy

Wify and I took on a very wet Namibia on our own; we travelled in excess of 8500km’s in just 15 days, and never stayed at the same place more than one night. We left Etosha on the Northern side, and the effects of the recent floods were still visible in the towns (1). We had a booking at the Kunene River Lodge, but getting there was a task we did not expect, as the roads turned into rivers ; We first went through several muddy roads (easy with the right tires ) (2), but was then faced with huge obstacles, which two people on their own (one behind the camera and one behind a 4×4) should not tackle on their own. But with the BF Goodrich tires and the local kids living in the mountainous area beside the Kunene River on our side, we decided to tackle the route through the mountain. It was a scare affair, but none the less awesome! We were driving by way of hand-signals from a local kid who knew the mountain very well, we eventually reached the main road – 20kms in 6 hours! It was an awesome experience!
Thanks,
Theo Theron


Theon Theron

Old Faithful

OK, so I had to sell my “old faithful” after almost 230 000km’s on the clock, and with my life-long dream bought the vehicle I was always dreaming off. So we set-out for our virgin visit to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. I always thought it’s just a cliché when people say that the Kalahari has an ambiance about it, unexplainable magnetic turn-on, but we sure did fell in love with the red dunes and ambient wildlife! We especially enjoyed staying at the rustic camp Bitterpan, which was only accessible with a 4×4 vehicle – and we know why! We experienced the Kalahari at night in the best way one could ask for – with lions circling the camp and roaring as they go along! It was an amazing experience, and definitely a 4×4 journey to take on with BF Goodrich tires.
Thanks,
Theo Theron


Theon Theron

BF Goodrich will never disappoint!

So we set out early morning to the snowy Matroosberg mountains close to Ceres. Adventure awaited, and we were extremely excited to test out my Isuzu’s new BF Goodrich All terrain tekkies!

Staff at the reserve informed that they have not seen the magnitude of the snow levels before, and that they have hired a bulldozer for the day to make way for the 4×4 vehicles. We were the second vehicle to enter, and therefore had the tough task of finding the best way to approach the snowy mountain passes. We often stopped to explore and experience the snow for the first time, and at one point we had no choice to wait for the ‘dozer to make way. Needless to say the BF Goodrich tyres did not disappoint and the Isuzu did not get stuck once! Not even slightly! In fact we were one of only a few vehicles that did not get stuck! The BF Goodrich monster rescued a Landy and a Toyota to great amazement of the whole community on top of the mountain. The news travelled into cyber space and Facebook buzzed about this for a week or so afterwards.

All I can say is BF Goodrich will never disappoint!
Thanks,
Theo Theron


Andrew 4WD

Take A Deep Breath

Blown away by tyre performance “I started doing this overland thing when I was 12. If I look back, for some reason, the fixing of punctures becomes a recurring theme. I remember my Dad’s Triumph 2000 getting bogged down on a sandy road and helping him change a puncture. I remember my Dad’s Range Rover and the Firestone Town and Country Radials, and the punctures we used to get. Then he changed to Michelin M+S 100s. They were better. Between 1982 and 1990, running my own Range Rover and the same tubed radial Michelins, I had a total of six blowouts with them and several more punctures besides. Making plans when it came to tyres and keeping them in one piece was an unexcapbable part of over landing.

Thankfully things have changed, and in a big way. In 2009 I crossed the Kalahari in my Land Cruiser. I had no tyres issues, which was nice because being totally on my own, changing a spare is a strenuous chore. Then I did a two-week expedition into southern Mozambique. Right after that I shot my TV series, travelling all the way through Namibia, through the southern half of Angola and then all the way across Botswana. In all, about 53 000 kms of travel and I never changed a tyre even once.

Over the past 30 years I have run Continentals, Good Years, Pirellis, Generals, Bridgestones and others, with varying degrees of success. But gone are my days of finding the right expedition tyre, because I have found it. I was running 265/75R16 BF Goodrich ATs on a Land Cruiser 105 4,2D.

I’ve hung up my boots”


Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone