The Intercontinental Rally Challenge was created in 2006 at the instigation of the Eurosport Television Group.

But it was really in 2007 that this new championship reserved for S2000 and Group N automobiles suddenly came to the attention of the public when there was an exceptional fight to win the Driver’s and Constructor’s titles between the six makes of automobile and the three tyre manufacturers involved.

New Rally, New Generation: the Intercontinental Rally Challenge slogan is intentionally ambitious. And it is true that this championship has breathed new life into the world of Carrallying :

  • With its calendar first of all; a clever mix of legendary races (Safari Rally, Sanremo) and other more exotic ones with special night stages or even stages in quick succession, service areas open to the public, welcoming the public, etc
  • With its regulations, which are also very broad, allowing each rally to have its own specific character, its own sections like the Russian Rally, in a country which had not hosted any international automobile competitions for nearly a century.
  • A new trend with those involved: extremely fast drivers, stars of their countries who gain from being known on the international scene, with the presence of great automobile makes (Peugeot, Fiat Abarth, Mitsubishi, Honda, Volkswagen) and three international tyre giants: BFGoodrich, Pirelli and Yokohama, engaged in a fierce battle.
  • And finally, a new global approach to rallying, with the policy of cost restrictions. With that in mind, BFGoodrich offers its partners “trade competition” tyres, that is to say products which are less exclusive than WRC tyres. These are however ultra high-performance competition tyres which won all the competitions in the 2007 season regardless of the type of terrain encountered, asphalt or dirt.



The Intercontinental Rally Challenge is open to S2000, Group N, Group A and Class A7 cars. World Rally Cars and Class A8, i.e. 4-wheel-drive Turbo-charged automobiles of more than 2 liters engine capacity are excluded. Any driver can score Driver’s and Constructor’s points if the Make is entered for the championship.

Points scoring in each rally: 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 point for each driver from 1st to 8th who qualifies to earn points.


BFGoodrich won the title of Rally Champion of Europe 2007 thanks to Simon Jean-Joseph (Citroën C2). Some competitions counted toward both the IRC championship and the championship of Europe. At the wheel of his 2-wheel-drive Citroën C2 shod with BFGoodrich tyres, the Frenchman achieved excellent performances on asphalt and dirt to win his second European title.